NASG Awards

The NASG has established a number of awards to recognize outstanding contributions to the world of "S" modeling. The NASG Board of Trustees (BOT) takes a vote each year on the nominations received for each of the potential awards. Any NASG member in good standing can submit his or her recommendation for a nomination to the Western Vice-President, who then presents them to the BOT for a vote. So, if you see any award with "(none)" next to it, it quite literally means no one nominated anyone for that award, so get your nominations in for the next BOT vote! The "Trustees' Award" is purely selected by the BOT only.

Contact person: Clay Buckage (western vice-president)

2023 NASG Awards

These are the names of the winners announced during the 2023 NASG Convention. Click the award title to learn more about the award itself.

Bernie Thomas Memorial Award:

Dick Kramer

Charles Sandersfeld Memorial Manufacturer's Award:

Miniatures from the North

Perles/Heimburger Publication Award:

Brooks Stover & Roger Nulton

Josh Seltzer Award:

Terry O'Kelly

Trustees' Award(s):

Dale Minard

NASG Hall of Fame:

Joe Kimber


Most model railroaders are aware of the NMRA's "Master Model Railroader" achievement program. This is a program wherein modelers are required to fulfill a certain number of tasks to the satisfaction of judges, earning seven certificates (out of a possible 11) in various specialty fields. So, while we are on the topic of awards, the following individuals, modeling in S-scale (now, or at the time of certification), have attained the status of "Master Model Railroader". Click the names to see some of their modeling efforts.

Kenneth D. Ehlers, MMR #119 (Sn3)

Pete Moffett, MMR #143 (Sn42)

John J. Mann, MMR #213 (S)

Jon Clinton Stetz, MMR #251 (Sn3)

Ken Stanley (d), MMR #274 (Sn3)

Tom Troughton (d), MMR #277 (Sn3)

Max Maginness, MRR #315 (Sn42)

Paul Scoles (d), MMR #331 (Sn3)

David Woodrell, MRR #337 (Sn3)

Peter Bellos (d), MMR #386 (Sn3)

Mike Braunstein, MMR #416 (S/Sn3)

Chip Romig (d), MMR #423 (S)

Brooks Stover, MMR #428 (S)

Roger Nulton, MMR #445 (S)

Mark L. Evans, MMR #500 (Sn3)

Jerry Wilson, MMR #577 (Sn3)

William (Bill) Busacca, MMR #587 (S)

Dale Kreutzer, MMR #588 (Sn3)

Richard (Dick) Karnes, MMR #606 (S)

Marc LaChey, MMR #725 (Sn3)

Product Gallery